The Summer Game

Cricket and Australia in the 50s and 60s

Cover Art for 9780733320033, The Summer Game by Gideon Haigh
ISBN: 9780733320033
Publisher: ABC Books - AU
Published: 1 November, 2006
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Links Australian Libraries (Trove)

'Outstanding This book ought to change the writing of cricket history by setting new standards The affect is evocative and powerful. Buy his book. It's brilliant.' - Matthew Engel, Wisden Cricket Monthly The Summer Game is a fascinating history of Australia in international cricket between 1949 and 1971. Gideon Haigh describes the triumphs and failures of Australia on the international cricket circuit, and tells the stories of some our greatest cricketers: Richie Benaud, Keith Miller, Ray Lindwall, Neil Harvey, Bob Simpson, Bill Lawry and Alan Davidson. Haigh brilliantly analyses the development of the game against a panoramic picture of the profound changes that took place in Australian society in the decades after the war. The Summer Game is a classic of Australian sporting and social history.


Booko is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

Historical Prices

This graph is for informational purposes only. Occasionally pricing data is captured incorrectly, through bugs in Booko or the stores supplying data, which may distort the graph, providing undue hope that even lower prices sometimes appear.

Recently Updated