The Truth About Her

Other Editions
This product is featured on the Booko Blog
Cover Art for 9781460759165, The Truth About Her by Jacqueline Maley
ISBN: 9781460759165
Publisher: 4th Estate - AU
Published: 7 April, 2021
Format: Paperback / softback
Language: English
Links Booko's Blog
Editions:
7 other editions of this product

How can you write other people's stories, when you won't admit the truth of your own? An absorbing, moving, ruefully tender, witty and wise novel of marriage, motherhood and the paths we navigate through both, for fans of Ann Patchett and Anne Tyler. Journalist and single mother Suzy Hamilton gets a phone call one summer morning, and finds out that the subject of one of her investigative exposes, 25-year-old wellness blogger Tracey Doran, has killed herself overnight. Suzy is horrified by this news but copes in the only way she knows how - through work, mothering, and carrying on with her ill-advised, tandem affairs.The consequences of her actions catch up with Suzy over the course of a sticky Sydney summer. She starts receiving anonymous vindictive letters and is pursued by Tracey's mother wanting her, as a kind of rough justice, to tell Tracey's story, but this time, the right way. A tender, absorbing, intelligent and moving exploration of guilt, shame, female anger, and, in particular, mothering, with all its trouble and treasure, The Truth About Her is mostly though a story about the nature of stories - who owns them, who gets to tell them, and why we need them. An entirely striking, stylish and contemporary novel, from a talented new writer.

New Items

Prices in $AUD. No Prices found.
Retailer
Availability
Total
BOOKO IS FINDING THE BEST PRICES FOR YOU.
WON'T BE A JIFFY...

Used Items

Prices in $AUD
Retailer
Availability
Total
BOOKO IS FINDING THE BEST PRICES FOR YOU.
WON'T BE A JIFFY...

Filters

Booko is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

Historical Prices

Loading...
This graph is for informational purposes only. Occasionally pricing data is captured incorrectly, through bugs in Booko or the stores supplying data, which may distort the graph, providing undue hope that even lower prices sometimes appear.

Recently Updated