Death of a Foreign Gentleman

The intriguing new literary crime novel from the Miles Franklin award-winning author for readers of Ian McEwan, Sebastian Barry and William Boyd (Stephen Minter)

Cover Art for 9781460764589, Death of a Foreign Gentleman by Steven Carroll
ISBN: 9781460764589
Publisher: 4th Estate AU
Published: 3 April, 2024
Format: Paperback
Links Harper Collins
Editions:
1 other edition of this product
Saving: Saving: $22.09 or 47%

Who killed Martin Friedrich? From award-winning writer Steven Carroll comes the first book in a series of post-war literary crime novels featuring Detective Sergeant Stephen Minter, with shades of The Third Man and Brighton Rock. Cambridge, UK, 1947.Martin Friedrich, a German philosopher who is in Cambridge to give a series of lectures, is cycling through an intersection on his way to give a lecture when a speeding car runs through him and kills him. A grisly death for one of the finest minds of the age.Shortly afterwards, Detective Sergeant Stephen Minter, an Austrian-born, cockney Jew, whose parents were interned during the war as enemy aliens, stands over the body of Friedrich contemplating the age-old question - who did it? Because Friedrich might be one of the finest minds of his age, but he's also problematic. Arrogant, a womaniser, he was also, in the 1930s, a member of the Nazi Party. As Stephen is soon to discover, there is no shortage of suspects. Friedrich was hated by almost everybody, even those who loved him. Is there any sense to his death or was it just a case of rotten, random luck? Has the universe spoken? Or are there more sinister factors at work?From one of Australia's finest, critically-acclaimed writers, Death of a Foreign Gentleman is a playful mixture of detective story and literary fiction that examines the question of how to live a meaningful life in an indifferent, random, post-god world.

Booko is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

Shop Preferences

Customize which shops to display. You can include the following shops by logging in to change your settings.

Booko is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

Historical Prices

Loading...
This graph is for informational purposes only. Occasionally pricing data is captured incorrectly, through bugs in Booko or the stores supplying data, which may distort the graph, providing undue hope that even lower prices sometimes appear.

Recently Updated