Search by title, author or ISBN

The Friendship Cure

Reconnecting in the Modern World

This product is featured on the Booko Blog
The Friendship Cure by Kate Leaver, ISBN: 9781468316599
Add an alert Add to a list

Add a alert

Enter prices below and click 'Add'. You will receive an alert when the book is available for less than the new or used price you specify.

Alert if:
Close

Add this book to a list

You can add this book to any one of your lists. Just select the list below, and click 'Add'.

Close
ISBN: 9781468316599
Publisher: Overlook Press
Published: 23 October, 2018
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Links Booko's Blog
Editions: 3 other editions of this product

Please describe the issue

If you have noticed an incorrect price, image or just something you'd like to tell us, enter it below. Please include your email address if you'd like a reply.

The Friendship Cure

Reconnecting in the Modern World

Our best friends, Twitter followers, gal-pals, bromances, Facebook friends, and long distance buddies define us in ways we rarely openly acknowledge. But as a society, we are simultaneously terrified of being alone and already desperately lonely. We move through life in packs and friendship circles and yet, in the most interconnected age, we are stuck in the greatest loneliness epidemic of our time. It's killing us, making us miserable and causing a public health crisis. Increasingly, we don’t just die alone; we die because we are alone. What if meaningful friendships are the solution?

Journalist Kate Leaver believes that friendship is the essential cure for the modern malaise of solitude, ill health, and anxiety and that, if we only treated camaraderie as a social priority, it could affect everything from our physical health and emotional well being. Her much-anticipated manifesto, The Friendship Cure, looks at what friendship means, how it can survive, why we need it, and what we can do to get the most from it. Why do some friendships last a lifetime, while others are only temporary? How do you “break up” with a toxic friend? How do you make friends as an adult? Can men and women really be platonic? What are the curative qualities of friendship, and how we can deploy friendship to actually live longer, better lives? From behavioral scientists to besties, Kate draws upon the extraordinary research from academics, scientists, and psychotherapists, and stories from friends of friends, strangers from the Internet, and her “squad” to get to the bottom of these and other facets of friendship. For readers of Susan Cain’s Quiet and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Big Magic, The Friendship Cure is a fascinating blend of accessible “smart thinking,” investigative journalism, pop culture, and memoir for anyone trying to navigate this lonely world, written with the wit, charm, and bite of a fresh voice.

NEW ITEMS
Prices in $USD ( Prices updated . )
Retailer Price Delivery Availability Total
BOOKO IS FINDING THE BEST PRICES FOR YOU.
WON'T BE A JIFFY...
USED ITEMS
Prices in $USD
Retailer Price Delivery Availability Total
BOOKO IS FINDING THE BEST PRICES FOR YOU.
WON'T BE A JIFFY...

Historical Prices

Loading...
This graph is for informational purposes only. Occasionally pricing data is captured incorrectly, through bugs in Booko or the stores supplying data, which may distort the graph, providing undue hope that even lower prices sometimes appear.

Recently Updated