Search by title, author or ISBN

The Lost Jewels

Cover Art for 9781760528102, The Lost Jewels by Kirsty Manning
Add an alert Add to a list

Add a alert

Enter prices below and click 'Add'. You will receive an alert when the book is available for less than the new or used price you specify.

Alert if:
Close

Add this book to a list

You can add this book to any one of your lists. Just select the list below, and click 'Add'.

Close
ISBN: 9781760528102
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Published: 31 March, 2020
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Links Allen And Unwin

Please describe the issue

If you have noticed an incorrect price, image or just something you'd like to tell us, enter it below. Please include your email address if you'd like a reply.

The Lost Jewels

'Manning expertly guides readers back and forth … Like a skilled lapidary, she shapes and polishes the narrative to gradually reveal character facets and the stories that gems carry over time … Characteristics of the gems themselves are carefully etched to reveal surprises, answers to riddles, and moments of deep emotion. Plotline layers unfold, illuminating shades of dark and light. This is indeed a treasure.' - The Historical Novel Society'...seamlessly blending fact with fiction to create a truly stunning story, it's a heartwarming tale by one of Australia's best historical fiction writers that will keep you turning pages long into the night.' - The Daily TelegraphInspired by a true story, The Lost Jewels unfolds an incredible mystery of thievery, sacrifice and hope through the generations of one family.In the summer of 1912, a workman's pickaxe strikes through the floor of an old tenement house in Cheapside, London, uncovering a cache of unimaginably valuable treasure that quickly disappears again. Present day. When respected jewellery historian, Kate Kirby, receives a call about the Cheapside jewels, she knows she's on the brink of the experience of a lifetime. As Kate peels back layers of concealment and deception, she is forced to explore long-buried secrets concerning Essie, her great-grandmother, and her life in Edwardian London. Soon, Kate's past and present threaten to collide and the truths about her family lie waiting to be revealed. 'There is something very appealing about a well-written novel that skillfully weaves the past and present, especially when there is a little known nugget of history woven deftly through its story. "The Lost Jewels" by Kirsty Manning is just such a book.' - The Free Lance-Star'From an Indian boy working in the mines of Golconda to a sailor catching a glimpse of an emerald as big as his fist, Manning gives a voice to those so often unheard in the jewelry industry. A tale of transferred wealth, power, and passion, Manning's novel will appeal to fans of Penny Vincenzi's A Perfect Heritage, Paula McLain's The Paris Wife, and Elizabeth Kostova's The Historian.' - BooklistPraise for The Jade Lily: 'Kirsty Manning weaves together little-known threads of World War II history, family secrets, the past and present into a page-turning, beautiful novel.' Heather Morris, author of the bestselling The Tattooist of Auschwitz

NEW ITEMS
Prices in $AUD. Prices updated .
Retailer Price Delivery Availability Total
BOOKO IS FINDING THE BEST PRICES FOR YOU.
WON'T BE A JIFFY...
USED ITEMS
Prices in $AUD
Retailer Price Delivery Availability Total
BOOKO IS FINDING THE BEST PRICES FOR YOU.
WON'T BE A JIFFY...

Filters

Booko is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

Historical Prices

Loading...
This graph is for informational purposes only. Occasionally pricing data is captured incorrectly, through bugs in Booko or the stores supplying data, which may distort the graph, providing undue hope that even lower prices sometimes appear.

Recently Updated