The Fortunes of Richard Mahony

Cover Art for 9781781390672, The Fortunes of Richard Mahony by Henry Handel Richardson
ISBN: 9781781390672
Publisher: Benediction Classics
Published: 30 January, 2012
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Saving: Saving: $58.08 or 51%

'The Fortunes of Richard Mahony' is the masterpiece of the Australian writer Henry Handel Richardson. It consists of three parts: Australia Felix (1917), The Way Home (1925), and Ultima Thule (1929). The trilogy was collected in 1930 under the title by which it is now best known. Set in Australia during the gold rush of the mid-nineteenth century, the three novels trace the rise and fall of the title character against the backdrop of colonial expansion (and, indeed, contraction). The story begins in the 1850's. and follows the course Richard Mahoney's life from his days as a store-keeper in shanty-town Ballarat during the gold rush, through the vicissitudes of his interrupted career as a doctor, until the final tragedy of his death.


Booko is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

Historical Prices

This graph is for informational purposes only. Occasionally pricing data is captured incorrectly, through bugs in Booko or the stores supplying data, which may distort the graph, providing undue hope that even lower prices sometimes appear.

Recently Updated