Search by title, author or ISBN

Plain Bad Heroines: A Novel

Cover Art for B083WSK79N, Plain Bad Heroines: A Novel by Emily M. Danforth
Add an alert Add to a list

Add a alert

Enter prices below and click 'Add'. You will receive an alert when the book is available for less than the new or used price you specify.

Alert if:
Close

Add this book to a list

You can add this book to any one of your lists. Just select the list below, and click 'Add'.

Close
ASIN: B083WSK79N
Publisher: HarperAudio
Published: 13 October, 2020
Format: Unabridged
Language: English
Editions: 7 other editions of this product

Please describe the issue

If you have noticed an incorrect price, image or just something you'd like to tell us, enter it below. Please include your email address if you'd like a reply.

Plain Bad Heroines: A Novel

Hardcover Paperback Audiobook Other Editions

‘It's a terrible story and one way to tell it is this: two girls in love and a fog of wasps cursed the place forever after…'‘Brimming from start to finish with sly humour and gothic mischief, Plain Bad Heroines is a brilliant piece of exuberant storytelling by a terrifically talented author' SARAH WATERS In 1902, at an all girl's boarding school in Rhode Island, students Flo and Clara are madly in love with each other, as well as completely obsessed with The Story of Mary MacLane, the scandalous debut memoir by 19 year old MacLane. A copy of this book is found splayed in the woods near the two girls' dead bodies after a horrific yellow jacket attack. Within five years The Brookhants School for Girls is closed. Its buildings left empty. But not before three more people died on the property, each in a troubling way…Over a hundred years later, Brookhants is in the news again when wunderkind writer Merritt Emmons publishes a book on the queer history surrounding the “haunted” gilded-age boarding school and that book is about to be adapted into a controversial film starring THE Harper Harper-celesbian megastar-as Flo, opposite B-list actress Audrey Wells, as Clara.As the three ambitious young women arrive at Brookhants to begin filming past and present become grimly entangled. Or perhaps just grimly exploited. Soon, it's impossible to tell quite where the curse leaves off and Hollywood begins…For fans of Sarah Waters, Curtis Sittenfeld and Shirley Jackson, Plain Bad Heroines is by turns sharply witty and deeply unsettling: a modern gothic novel that is utterly immersive and hugely compelling.

NEW ITEMS
Prices in $AUD. Prices updated .
Retailer Price Delivery Availability Total
BOOKO IS FINDING THE BEST PRICES FOR YOU.
WON'T BE A JIFFY...
USED ITEMS
Prices in $AUD
Retailer Price Delivery Availability Total
BOOKO IS FINDING THE BEST PRICES FOR YOU.
WON'T BE A JIFFY...

Filters

Booko is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

Historical Prices

Loading...
This graph is for informational purposes only. Occasionally pricing data is captured incorrectly, through bugs in Booko or the stores supplying data, which may distort the graph, providing undue hope that even lower prices sometimes appear.

Recently Updated